My search for the right flan recipe landed in simplicity.  After reading about the building blocks of a custard and where additions can help or go wrong, it was back to the basics done right.  I used a caramel base with an egg, milk, sugar, salt and vanilla custard.  And then…I added tequila!  I was going for a generous quarter cup, but I’m pretty sure that was at least a half cup.  All the recipes with alcohol seemed to favor rum–which I didn’t have on hand.  But my experiment is over, tequila was just right.  It seemed to faintly flavor the custard, but add this strong bite to the caramel during cooking.  EXACTLY.  I used 4 whole eggs and 3 additional yolks.  I will next time be more heavy on the yolks for added richness.  Go figure.  I will also try to remove the white sugar, I’m not the biggest fan and rarely cook/bake with it, and use evaporated cane sugar instead.

Here is my recipe for drunk flan, followed by assembly instructions.  And, no, you can’t get drunk from the tequila in this, it does burn off.  However, I did actually ask that question out loud to my spousal.  I just  have to admit that.

Drunk Flan:

serves me (1) through out the day or 8 normal people

3/4 c. sugar

1/4 c. water

4 eggs plus another 3 yolks

3/4 c. sugar

1/4 t. salt

3 c. whole milk

1 t. vanilla

1/4 c. – 1/2 c. tequila

1.  Preheat the oven to 325.  On the middle rack, place a pan (big enough to hold your baking dish) with dish towel inside of the pan.  You’ll be adding water later for a water bath and the dish towel will insulate the bottom of the flan dish, the water will insulate the sides.  All while creating steam.

2. Combine 3/4 c. sugar and 1/4 c. water in a pan and set burner to medium.  Swirl the pan until the sugar mixer is dissolved, not allowing it to boil.  Once clear, bring to a boil and place a lid on it for 2 minutes.  After 2 minutes, remove the lid and swirl the pan, still boiling until amber in color.  The darker you go, the more dark chocolate/coffee like flavor you’ll produce.  That is, until you burn it.  Then you’ll only have a burnt flavor.  Pour the mixture into a 2 quart, oven proof, dish.  Set aside.

3.  Heat the milk to steaming.  While waiting for the milk, whisk together the eggs, 3/4 c. sugar and salt.  Then slowly pour your milk into the egg mixture, whisking the entire time (tempering).  I poured this milk/egg mixture through a sieve.  The little egg yolk connectors (chalazes) gross me out.  Then add the vanilla and tequila.

4.  Pour the custard over the caramel (which will be hardened by this point) and place the baking dish inside the pan in the oven.  Then pour water into the large pan, surrounding your baking dish about halfway up the sides.

5.  Bake for 1 hour, then check your drunk flan.  It should have a firm jiggle…a knife will come out mostly clean.  Don’t over cook this though.  Yuk.  And make sure your oven temperature is correct.  Heating any custard too high is going to curdle it, releasing the whey and just looking (and I’m sure tasting) plain gross.

6.  Chill the drunk flan for a few hours or overnight.  Then warm the bottom of the pan in some water, cut along the edges and flip out onto a dish with sides.  I, however, don’t flip mine but just dig right in with my spoon through out the day from the fridge.  It takes a mere day to finish her off .   Delicious!

