These rolls were a total blast. I used a quick rise dinner roll recipe and they were light and yeasty. The boys took marshmallows representing Jesus, dipped them in melted butter (oil to prepare His body for burial), then rolled them in cinnamon sugar (the burial clothes). We set these in the middle of a roll and pinched the edges well. Another quick rise and popped them in the oven.

It was so fun to open the rolls and find the empty tomb! The boys couldn’t get over it, the sheer excitement…they sure were tasty too.

resurrection rollsresurrection rollsresurrection rollseating resurrection rollsresurrection rolls cut

And then the rainbow cake. I think we’ll rename it “covenant cake”. I followed the directions exactly and everything came out just as planned. The swiss meringue icing was amazing. Definitely my new go to for frosting, so beautiful and smooth with good structure.  I much prefer the lemon extract to cut down on the cloying nature of frosting.

This cake tasted great, but I found it lacking. I think it was the brightly colored layers tricking you into expecting flavors from those layers. Instead, while vanilla cake is delish, it left my brain to mouth connection confused. I want to do this cake with vanilla/chocolate layers next. It makes a beautifully tall cake!  If I do the rainbow layers again, I’ll be experimenting with veggie based food coloring. Let’s just say nourishing was not top on the list for rainbow cake. Or resurrection rolls for that matter. But the visuals were just perfect!

rainbow cakecutting into rainbow cakerainbow cake cuteating rainbow cakeeating rainbow cakerainbow cake cut